Archive for May 18th, 2009

May 18, 2009

>earthquakes as a momma

>We just had a fair sized earthquake.  Not surprising as we live in earthquake country and you’d think, given I am a native, I would be used to them.  But it was different this time…  we have a sleeping baby in the other room.  I’ve never moved so fast in my life.  

Funny enough, she slept right through it, which is funny given she has been terrible about sleeping in her own bed.  I want so badly to put her in the bed with me so she is close to me just in case there is another one.  
This was a good shaker…  one of our framed pictures went crashing to the floor.
May 18, 2009

>its been awhile

>Yes, its been awhile since I have written.  I promised myself I would post once a day, but alas, mommyhood has kept me busy (to say the least).  

Hadley and I returned from a wonderful trip to Rockville, Texas to see our friends from Germany and Italy get married.  The ranch setting was lovely, however, hard to keep a busy infant away from the insects.  Hadley is an excellent traveling, probably because her first airplane trip was at 12 weeks old.  But she has a busy mommy who has to travel some for business, and being that she is still nursing, she gets to come along.
On that note, Hadley is crawling and cruising and moving faster than we can keep up. I can hardly believe we are less than two months away from her first birthday, and probably less time before she starts walking without assistance.

We had our first overnight apart last week and, for all intensive purposes, it was successful.  Jonathan and I went to the Angels vs. Red Sox game (this is a Red Sox household) and enjoyed an evening alone for the first time in a very long while.  I missed her terribly (and I didn’t sleep very well), but I knew she was in good hands with Grandma Sally.  The next overnight trip (in two weeks) will be easier.
So that is a quick update on our little one.  Did I mention that she is already doing laundry?